On Lienas’s Conference

I hope you all enjoyed Gemma Lienas’s conference. It’d be great if you could express here some opinions on the topics she mentioned, i.e. equality, discrimination, domestic violence, feminism, sexuality…

I highly recommend her books! This is her website.

By the way, here you have some extra information about traditional fairy tales in education, in case it is not clear yet what it is all about. Thanks Celia for the questions, anyway. It’s always interesting to discuss controversial issues.

12 Responses to On Lienas’s Conference

  1. Mar says:

    I learned many things in Gemma Liena’s speech and she makes me feel proud of being woman.
    In Languague’s classes we talked too about the conference and… unfortunately I discover that some boys have a retrograd and chauvinistic mind!
    I’ll try to change it 🙂

    • Alicia Urbano says:

      Me too I liked the Gemma Liena’s conference.
      I liked his great personality and its secure in herself and her ideas.
      I think the same as you, she made us feel good with what we are.

      Mar, I totally agree with you. I believe all girls should do something with those boys. 🙂

  2. Mar says:

    I must say that I missed Sergio in the conference because he always make really interesting questions!

  3. Celia Agüera says:

    I found the conference very interesting. I learned some specifically things that I never found it male chauvinism, as when a boy say to other boy “Anda, que estas hecho una nena/nenaza”. I learned things like this.

    I just asked this question because Gemma Lienas said You shouldn’t look for the Prince Charming, You should look for a good man. And this topic remembered to me all said by the news on TV.

  4. Sergio says:

    I would have liked going to this conference, I have read her book “El diario Rojo de Carlota” and I liked it a lot. I have learnt some things about women, and about men too, watching both points of view.
    I think that in a relationship, the most important thing is to be fine with the other person, not be bad if the other person is not there. The boy and the girl have to make feel fine and happy the other person, but without protect or too control them.

  5. Alicia Urbano says:

    I wanted to read the books “Carlota’s red diary” and “Flanagan’s red diary”, but when I go to take them out from the library they are never there.
    Now I want also read “Carlota’s blue diary” and “Carlota’s violet diary”.
    When I heard to Gemma talk about them, they caught my attention. 😀
    From my point of view, we can learn many things in these books.

  6. Mar says:

    I’m reading Carlota’s red diary now… the book is really educative and give interesting sexual information!
    A book like Red, blue or violet diarys are necessary for young people like us!

  7. fernandosf says:

    I liked Gemma´s speech and I agree with many of the things she said. the only thing I don´t like is the use of the word feminism because it sounds as chauvinism and both are bad. In my opinion the best word will be equality.

    • Alicia Urbano says:

      Sorry Fernando. I think that I can to get something straight.
      I think that you believe feminism is the antonym of chauvinism. But this isn’t so, chauvinism is the antonym of “hembrismo” (I don’t know how this word is in English).

    • Laura says:

      I’m with Alicia. Feminism is the term used to refer to the fight for equality in history. Remember this has been the only peaceful fight in the history of the world and the effects have been incledibly lasting in time and positive for our society. Feminists are both men and women, and of course feminism is not the opposite of chauvinism or macho attitudes, even though many people want to manipulate history and the amazing changes that feminism has brought!

      • Mar says:

        Unfortunately, many men think that feminism is like chauvinism… and they make hard criticisms about feminism.. These men don’t know that women only look for justice between sexes!

  8. Marina Vera says:

    Gemma’s conference was very interesting and I learned many things.
    I’m looking forward to reading some of her diaries, it’s true that some classmates recommended it to me but the conference had made them more interesting.

Leave a Reply

